h1

This week’s take

July 26, 2011

DSCF943331.5 lbs – give or take a little.  That’s how much honey I harvested this past week. Last year I bought pretty little honey jars – this year I reused canning jars we’ve had kicking around (I sanitized them in the dishwasher and I did invest in new inner lids). 

With no better place to put them, I have the filled jars stacked in the corner of my kitchen. 

I haven’t put labels on the jars yet (the label you can see says jalapeno jelly) – I’ll probably use the labels I made last year:image

In the process of bottling the honey I certainly had ample opportunity to taste it, and it’s goooood.  I hate wasting a drop because it takes the bees a lot of work.  According to one bee trivia list a single bee makes only 1/12 of a teaspoon of honey in her lifetime.  If there’s a tablespoon of honey left in the bottom of the bucket that’s the life’s work of 36 bees.  I hate for any of it to get washed down the drain – so I scraped it pretty clean.  I’ll put the bucket out for the bees to clean too (and then I’ll wash it really really well, honest.)

 

4 comments

  1. That’s great. I’ve only managed one harvest, and it wasn’t a lot. But it sure was nice.

    You’ve got a lot of gift-giving taken care of right there.


    • shhhh, it’s a secret 🙂


  2. So cool! Congrats!!


  3. Impressive!



Leave a Reply

