h1

Waking from hibernation

January 30, 2011

There is potential for a decent snowstorm early next week, or it’ll go south of blizzard90us like all the rest have…  I’m trying not to get my hopes up too high.  We had a wonderful 7” snowfall on Christmas Eve – it made for a beautiful Christmas – but we’ve had nothing to talk about since then.  [Interesting to note though that when I saved this icon from the NWS weather forecast for Tuesday the icon is called blizzard.  Perhaps we’re in for a big one…]

January has been pretty unremarkable in the snow business.  Two inches here, three inches there.  But February is typically a snowier month than January or December where I live (and if the snow comes on Tuesday, well then it’ll be February). 

February is a very unpredictable month.  We can be in the dead of winter on February 1st and have crocuses blooming February 28th.  I’m not holding my breath for that, but I am trying to bring a bit of the changing seasons inside.  Tonight, while I was thinking of it and before any snow comes and distracts me, I went out and cut some forsythia.forsythia sticks

It is a measure of my optimism that I think these sticks will have yellow blossoms on them in a few weeks. 

I feel it in my bones.  I am slowly coming out of hibernation.  My energy level is increasing.  I feel more awake. I don’t think it’s just me.  I think it’s the season.  The days are getting longer bit by bit and while we can’t see it, history suggests the plants are getting ready to do their spring thing. I can feel the transition beginning, even if we do get a blizzard on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

