h1

It’s S’more Season

June 2, 2010

My daughter is going to have an outside sleepover next week with the requisite campfire – and that means s’mores!  And s’mores mean chocolate!

chocolate bar  

And there’s the issue.  I love chocolate!  When I had allergy tests done I told the doctor it didn’t matter what the result was for the chocolate test, I wasn’t giving it up! (phew – I wasn’t allergic to chocolate).  I pick myself up a bar or two of Endangered Species chocolate at the grocery store so I have a bit of something to nibble on now and again.  I find a little dark chocolate goes a long way and I can make a bar last a week, but milk chocolate is gobbled in a sitting.  I buy dark chocolate now – often with mint or cocoa nibs, mmmmmm.

What to buy for the girls though?  Chocolate is associated with child labor and child slavery issues.   Hershey’s chocolate, the traditional bar for s’mores are not transparent about where they get their cocoa for their chocolate and the evidence suggests that they get at least some from plantations that employ slave labor and trafficked child labor.  Hershey says the problem is actually misinformation about the nature of cocoa farms in Africa (Green America).  Given there are options, I’d rather purchase elsewhere.

Green America provides a list of Fair Trade chocolate manufacturers.  There are other options also.  For instance, while Cadbury doesn’t make all of it’s chocolate from Fair Trade cocoa (and so isn’t on Green America’s list), it’s Green and Black’sfairtrade logo chocolate is both organic and Fair Trade.  And my understanding is that while all Fair Trade chocolate is not organic, you can be fairly confident that organic USDA organic logo chocolate is environmentally, socially, and economically sustainable.  So, while I could memorize the list of Green America sanctioned products, I will probably just keep my eye out for  the Fair Trade or USDA organic logos. 

These little girls are going to have some darn good chocolate in their s’mores.  I almost hate to sully it with graham crackers and marshmallows.

6 comments

  1. I don’t like s’mores but love fair trade chocolate. Divine is my favorite.


  2. http://www.tazachocolate.com
    http://www.madecasse.com/
    A couple more sources for you! We had a chocolate tasting recently and both these companies were represented. Taza is really unusual, and if you like dark chocolate, this is the kind that will satisfy with just a couple of squares. Someone just told me to make s’mores with peanut butter cups instead of bars. I really love the Green & Black Mayan Gold, too. Now we need to find some fair trade peanut butter cups too :-))

    I’m sorry you can’t come to wmoms reunion ….


    • A chocolate tasting! I wish I lived near you!


  3. Since you mention two of my passions, chocolate and camping, I can’t help but chime in with some savory advice. Bite-sized chocolate squares are PERFECT for stacking atop S’mores. Their square shape and even thickness make for fireside chocolate perfection.

    As you seek suitable indulgences for your daughter and her campfire friends, know that all Endangered Species Chocolate products are ethically traded – meaning no child/slave labor and ensuring that cocoa farmers are paid a fair price for their harvest.

    My S’More chocolate of choice = All-Natural Smooth Milk Chocolate (http://www.chocolatebar.com/shop/showcategory.aspx?CategoryID=5&SEName=bite-sized-chocolate)

    -Monica Erskine
    Chocolate Goddess
    Endangered Species Chocolate


    • Thanks Monica – I saw the bite-size endangered species chocolate on the website – I haven’t seen them in my neck of the woods but will keep my eyes open. mmmm, I see a s’more in my own future.
      w


      • Replying to my own reply – – today I bought individually wrapped squares of endangered species smooth milk chocolate for the girls – and dark chocolate with deep forest mint – for me. Thanks again Monica.



Leave a Reply

