h1

My Car!

May 7, 2010

DSCF7729

A 2008 Ford Escape Hybrid.  It has high miles (about 91,000) but a car-obsessed friend convinced me that it was a good buy.  In addition, I took it to the Ford dealer in town and he kicked the tires, looked under the hood, took it for a test drive and proclaimed it a good deal.  So, who am I to disagree.  It saved me probably 8 thousand dollars from what I would have ended up paying for the same car with 30,000 miles from a dealer.

This Escape has all-wheel drive all the time.  I was concerned that AWD would cut my gas mileage down but I got about 28.5 mpg today driving mostly highway miles.  It’s not quite the 30 mpg I’d like, but it is as good, if not better, than what I’ve been getting on the 2000 Focus.

Besides, I really like this car.  It has all the bells and whistles I could want and several I hadn’t even considered.  A sunroof/moon roof for instance – my daughter loves it!  Tilt steering wheel – haven’t really needed that since my last pregnancy – but I suppose it’s nice to have.  Heated seats.  I’m told once you’ve tried them you never go back.  The radio has all sorts of updates that weren’t available back at the start of the decade – like scanning via category.  

And of course the hybrid-ness is pretty nifty.  It still takes me by surprise when the gas engine shuts off when I stop at an intersection.  I can sometimes drive through the entire downtown section of my hometown just on battery power.

We have decided to keep the Focus so we are now a 3 car family (with presently 2 drivers).  But my son will be taking driver’s ed. in less than a year and you’re crazy if you think he’s going to be practicing his driving in the hybrid!

hybrid logI got this picture off the web, because I forgot to take a picture of it on my own car…. I just love the hybrid logo!

I haven’t decided how green this car really is.  If it were a Prius or some other car that gets umpteen miles to the gallon there’d be no doubts.  But we can’t take 4 of us in a Prius on a 900 mile road trip.  So we have to compromise sometimes.  For a vehicle with cargo room I think this is about as green as I’m going to get. 

One comment

  1. Yay for a new car! I have the heated seats in my old station wagon … love them.



Leave a Reply

