h1

Dark Days 11 – Meat and Potatoes

January 30, 2010

A little from the basement, a little from the pantry, a little from the farmer’s market – put it together and you have a Dark Days dinner.

dinner 2

This week it was pork chops, roasted potatoes, salad, and green tomato relish.   The pork and salad were from the farmer’s market – local and ethical, not 100% sure of the organic-ness.

potatoes The potatoes were from our basement – well, originally from the garden.  My husband used a wavy knife I got him for Christmas to cut the potatoes and said it made the potatoes a lot easier to flip since there wasn’t an entire smooth side to stick to the pan.

The green tomato relish was canned by my husband at the end of the summer when we had lots of green tomatoes and not enough frost-free days to ripen them on the vine.  It was delicious – I used mine not only with the chops but also on the salad.  Not a great dressing, but not bad either.

Exceptions to the SOLE-ness of the dinner were spices on the pork, balsamic vinegar on my potatoes (and ketchup on my husbands), and salad dressing for my husband and daughter too I suppose.  My daughter had the local, natural, not quite organic milk.  (My son was ill so his meal doesn’t count at all).  My husband drank water (local – straight from the tap) and I had seltzer – made with my Sodastream seltzer maker – so I guess that makes it local too.

3 comments

  1. Since you are using homegrown potatoes, would you like to enter this post in our Grow Your Own roundup this month? Full Details at

    http://chezannies.blogspot.com/2010/02/announcing-grow-your-own-39.html


  2. I am just longing to have my own seltzer maker!! I go though it so fast and I feel guilty about all that plastic, even though I recycle it. The seltzer maker I saw recently was $250, so I put it totally out of my mind. But your post has put it back in. I bookmarked the site so I can talk to my husband about it – my birthday’s coming up!!
    Anyway, looks like a good meal too. Interesting to hear that crinkle cut potatoes don’t stick so much. Good tip – I’ll keep my eye out for such a knife because I like to roast veggies a lot.


    • I love my seltzer maker – no more extra bottles – and you exchange the CO2 canisters. Oh – and much cheapter in the long run.
      w



Leave a Reply

