h1

HAPPY 101 AWARD!

January 14, 2010

I am flying high!  The last 48 hours have been filled with one happy surprise after another:

  • I had an e-mail from my friend Susan.  I haven’t heard from her in months and months and knew she had a really rough 2009, so it was great to hear her outlook is up and life is good.
  • I ran into a friend who was coming out of the gym.  He has been getting chemo for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma but said his last PET scan was clean. 
  • I had my usual several times a day e-mail conversation with my friend Vicky.  It is so great be able to dash off a quick observation, respond to something she has said, or share a funny – at least as good as a daily phone call – and much cheaper. 
  • My husband e-mailed and not only will we be having a date this Saturday but it will include a couple that I really want to get to know better. 
  • I had a meeting – a drug prevention task force meeting – the type of meeting that could be deadly dull – but was actually filled with people in good-humor and we all laughed a lot while we also had a very productive meeting.
  • I had a surprise e-mail from the editor of a textbook I authored.  They want a third edition!
  • I had an e-mail from the publications office at work.  They are interested in the story behind some survey research I’m doing on beekeepers.
  • Today in the mail I received my first copy of MaryJanesFarm: The Everyday Organic Lifestyle Magazine, a Christmas present from the aforementioned Vicky.
  • And as if that weren’t enough – Retro Housewife Goes Green gave me (and 9 others)  the Happy 101 Award!  I would like to thank all the little people who have made this possible…

Happy award

Here are the rules for the Happy 101 Award (yes, an award with rules – there are no free lunches in this world):

  • List 10 things that make you happy. (Try to do one of them today)
  • Tag 10 bloggers that make you happy.
  • Make sure to link back to the person that tagged you.

So here goes – my 10, very self-centered, things that make me happy:

  1. A conversation with my husband
  2. Making my teenager laugh
  3. A hug from daughter
  4. Knitting, beading, or reading a good book (hmm, I need to get to the library and pick up this month’s book club book)
  5. Making myself a cup of tea
  6. Doing a jigsaw puzzle
  7. Chocolate
  8. The scale going down
  9. A cat curled up next to me in bed
  10. Writing – writing my blog, writing my column, heck – even writing lectures (on interesting stuff anyway)

[It’s been a good day, I’ve done 9 so far – and there is still time to make that kid laugh.]

And here are 10 of the many blogs that make me smile – a Happy 101 award to each of you!:

  1. Squash Blossom Farm – Susan and her family’s adventures on their new small farm
  2. Nyack Backyard – reminds me to keep my eyes open to the nature around me (hey! I’ve seen a bald Eagle twice this week!  another happy thing)
  3. The Mommy Porch – “meandering thoughts on food and life” – sums it up pretty well
  4. (not so) Urban Hennery – started reading it for the bees and then continued reading – and now she has got me involved in The Dark Days challenge
  5. My Green Conscience – a fantastic approach to encouraging an eco-friendly lifestyle
  6. Fessenden Farmstead – chronicles of Stacey’s urban farming and homesteader lifestyle
  7. Are We There Yet? – fun and candid observations
  8. Mayberry Mom – comments about and from a life with young kids – such a fun reminder for me
  9. Divine Nature – beautiful photographs
  10. A+A Adopt a Baby – a new baby in a happy family – what’s not to like?

Thank you Retro Housewife for the award!

5 comments

  1. […] lovely Wendy from Midwest Green has given me the Happy 101 award. The rules are to list 10 things that make me happy, which seems like a good idea after the last […]


  2. Thank you! I need a good reminder about what makes me happy during this time of year.


  3. Please let me know how you like MaryJane’s farm – I’ve considered getting it. So far I only get Mother Earth News.


  4. I’m glad I could be apart of your good day. 🙂

    And MaryJanes Farm is awesome, I love that magazine.


  5. Hey thanks! I just did a post on happiness so this is a great followup!

    It was so nice to come here today and read all your cheery news. We lost one of our colleagues in a car accident and then Haiti – it’s been a tough week.

    Let me know how you like MaryJanes Farm – I’m intrigued!



Leave a Reply

