h1

2009: A Personal Inventory

January 7, 2010

2009 was a quiet year. Good times were good. Bad times were minimal. Things were accomplished; nothing was demolished. It was low on wild and crazy excitement but high on contentment, which means it was a very good year. Here are some personal highlights from my 2009:

· I didn’t hurt my back this year. Of course I didn’t exercise either – but I prefer to focus on the positive – I didn’t hurt my back.

· I maintained a robust weight. Some might say I am a little too robust. I prefer to think of it as a safety net should we suffer a sudden famine.

· I am still employed. Granted my take home pay does not take me as far as it used to, but I still get a check and so I am not complaining.

· No pets died this year.

· No relatives died either.

· The house is still standing, and so is the garage (although the garage was a little closer to collapse than we had realized).

· I now have two beehives. Of course it is the dead of winter and the bees may be dead too. I’ll know in the spring.

· My children seem to still love me; perhaps without the overt enthusiasm of their toddler years, but I don’t think they are harboring any matricidal intentions, at least not usually.

· I’m still married, happily even. My husband is too.

Yes, low on over the top excitement, but high on contentment: a very good year.

 

[This recently appeared in our local paper in my irregularly published column: A Slice of Life]

2 comments

  1. Hi! Love your blog. I thought you might be interested in joining our group – Michigan Lady Food Bloggers. We’re a group of women bloggers that live in Michigan that get together occasionally for potlucks and online. Membership is open to all women that blog about food that live in Michigan. Check us out:

    http://myfoodtribe.blogspot.com/2009/11/michigan-lady-food-blogger-faq.html

    and if you’d like to join us, we’d love to have you!


    • thanks – but I live in IL



Leave a Reply

