h1

Holiday Treats

December 24, 2009

This is not a cooking blog. I know that is kind of hard to tell lately, what with all the Dark Days posts. But anyone who knows me well knows I’m not much of a cook, but I do eat, and I do have a sweet tooth.  At this time of year I have a handful of holiday treats that I like to make  – and if you do it three years in a row it becomes a tradition.

Every year I make fudge – mostly because the kids and my husband like it.  I make coconut swirls – which taste like mounds bars.  [I don’t think they are actually a family secret recipe – but I’m not ready to share it.]  And I make 2-minute cookies – which are an oatmeal “cookie” (milk, butter, sugar, oatmeal, cocoa and then coconut, nuts, or raisins – I like the nuts and/or raisins – but the kids don’t – so this year it is coconut).  Often we dip pretzels in chocolate too.  None of these requires any kind of oven time.

I make up plates for various and sundry people around town, take some with us when visiting, and eat too many ourselves.

When I went to the store last week to stock up on treat supplies I made an effort to look for organic ingredients and got a lesson in what is available and what isn’t.

First, I failed in the butter category.  I had intended to make butter from our local, natural (not quite organic, but hormone-free) milk – but we weren’t able to get cream this week.  So, I had to resort to the butter in the fridge – which is what we can get in town – your typical run-of-the-mill unsalted butter. 

I need lots of chocolate for all of these treats.  I was able to get organic chocolate semi-sweet chips [Kroger’s store brand – Private Selections Organics].  I also got organic sugar and organic powdered sugar (also Kroger’s Private Selections Organics].  In my cupboard I have some organic cocoa powder.  The other items I needed were oatmeal, sweetened condensed milk, and powdered milk.  At the large grocery store I was at (Kroger – which has an impressive “natural food” section and increasing number of organic products intermixed with the nonorganic) I could not find any organic versions of these items.  Bob’s Red Mill apparently makes organic rolled oats, but it wasn’t readily available to me.

So, I guess I did 1/2 way ok on the organic factor.  None of the ingredients are particularly local though. 

As for taste – I can’t say as I can tell a difference.  But since much of the ingredients are organic I know my family, my friends, and I are ingesting minimal pesticides, herbicides, and fertilizer chemicals.

Anyway – it’s Christmas Eve.  For everyone who celebrates Christmas – I wish you a very merry one.  For everyone else – I hope you have a lovely, peaceful day.

 DSCF7317

5 comments

  1. I’m taking the plunge and ordering flour and other grains from the place in VA (http://www.wadesmill.com/) – at least I can use the flour for the Dark Days Challenge – it’s within 150 miles of me but they don’t have a DC outlet so I need to order by mail – I suppose that defeats the purpose of reducing my footprint by buying local – but it is supporting a family business.


    • Mail is better than driving yourself to the mill and back! 🙂
      w


  2. I have a sweet tooth, too! We made sugar cookies using wheat flour (that was white), but I think the only thing organic was the brown sugar. None of it local, though, unless you count Trader Joe’s as local since it’s just about a mile away. 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!


    • We have so many sweet around now from ourselves and as gifts – I am looking at some serious dieting starting next week!
      w


  3. Merry Christmas!



Leave a Reply

