h1

Dark Days – Week 2 – Roast Chicken and Bread to Die For

November 25, 2009

A short week at home before heading to family for Thanksgiving, maybe someday we’ll do a SOLEful Thanksgiving – but my husband and I do bring the turkey – a naturally raised local bird processed by Amish food processors). 

We had our Dark Days meal on Monday before I had to run off to a School Board meeting.  I went with a full tummy and a smile on my face.

roast chickenMy husband roasted a chicken (local and organic).  We had salad made with local, organic, hydroponically grown greens, and my husband made whole wheat bread with local, organic, wheat flour and local (and sustainable and ethical, but not organic) milk.  The bread was heavenly.  I couldn’t find any of the local heavy cream, so I couldn’t make butter – but I had my bread without it and it was simply marvelous. [my husband used “regular” butter – – all that can be said for it is that it is local.]  I don’t know if it was the flour or the substitution of organic sugar for the molasses – – but I love love love that bread.  The recipe is at the end of this post.

My son had salad (with above greens, our own carrots, and local cheese) and my daughter had chicken.  Someday we’ll all eat the same thing – like when they are in their 30’s maybe.

To top off dinner I had picked up a pint of Pumpkin Ice Cream at the Farmer’s Market (SLE, but not purely O).

We have another bottle of local wine in the refrigerator, but since I had to do my bit as an elected official, I didn’t feel I should drink wine at dinner. 

I wonder what we’ll do next week?

Here’s the recipe for the bread.  My husband uses a bread machine for this one. 

Yummy Whole Wheat Bread:

[1.5 lb loaf with bread machine]

1 egg white plus enough milk to equal 1 cup +3 TBL (the original recipe calls for this much buttermilk)

3 Tbl oil

3 Tlb organic sugar (the original recipe calls for this much molasses)

1.5 tsp salt

.5 tsp baking soda

3 cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp active dry yeast

on his breadmaker (Breadman Pro)

select whole wheat course 3

if you select repaid whole wheat course 4

then use 2.5 tsp dry yeast

One comment

  1. […] family ate roasted chicken accompanied by a salad of hydroponically grown greens.  Her husband made incredible bread from local organic wheat.  We’re all envious–both […]



Leave a Reply

