h1

No Impact Experiment: Blog Post

October 17, 2009

The No Impact Experiment – a week of reduced impact on the planet – starts tomorrow.  I am all registered on the No Impact Experiment site and have taken my pre-experiment survey.  You get your own webpage on the Experiment site and are encouraged to post on their blog – so I did.  This is what I wrote:

Why Am I Doing This?

I think that I’m pretty green in my day to day life. In addition, I have a blog that chronicles some of the activities, events, and purchases I make on the green side of life (Midwest Green) But, I have to admit I am not as excited about undertaking this experiment as I would have thought I would be.

So why am I doing it?

I see this as an opportunity to inventory what it is I do that is so green; to see how green I really am on a day to day basis. I think this is also the major reason I am a bit trepidatious – perhaps I’ll find I’m not as green as I think I am.

I have decided to do the No Impact Project as a personal experiment. I have a husband and two children, one with the flu; I am not going to try to drag them along on this project. This time I am doing the experiment just for me – – to see how much I can do to green-up my own behaviors. Of course, there is bound to be some overflow into family life – – It will be interesting to see how much my involvement in the experiment affects the rest of the family.

This afternoon I took the pre-experiment survey. The survey asked about opportunities in my "city". My "city" has 1800 people – and I work 30 miles from home. There is no public transportation, no local green events, my nearest farmer’s market is 15 miles away. Some of my green activities are going to be very different from an urbanites. Very few (but some) urbanites went out to check their bees this afternoon, or cut down their dead flowers and add them to their compost pile. It will be interesting to see how behaviors compare and differ across the experiment.

For those of you not involved in the experiment – participants are asked to join their states’ group. So far I am the only member of my state’s group and most of the groups don’t seem to have more than 2 or 3 members. I wonder what is going on there? Is this really only attracting a few hundred people? Are more planning on doing this during a different week? Is the title – The No Impact Experiment – just too imposing and does the experiment sound like it will be too demanding? Are lots and lots of people actually doing it but on their own without registering? Hmmm, perhaps we’ll see.

And for all those of you who are involved in the experiment – – I hope you get what you want from the experience. I hope I do too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

