h1

Carrot Update and Other Garden Thoughts

October 4, 2009

I harvested the last of the carrots today.  We had planted 3 rows (about 15 feet long and none too neatly – that is it wasn’t as if there was a nice neat row of single carrots).  This last row, like the first, yielded about 6 gallon bags of carrots.  The middle row gave us about 3 gallons.  The first row had a lot of amazingly huge carrots – – the 2nd and 3rd had more reasonably sized individuals.  They were Danvers Half-Long carrots – most are about 6 – 8”. 

We have given carrots to relatives this fall as we saw them.  Friends are next.  I’m also planning on carrot corn bread sometime this week (it was on the plan for today but got bumped by laundry).  If I get some raisins I’ll do a carrot raisin bread too – – and maybe carrot cake, with a little cream cheese icing…. yummy.

I have some plum tomatoes drying – I hope they’re done before I want to go to bed… I was a little late to get them going.  There are still plenty on the vine – my husband says he’ll freeze them.

My husband is still finding green beans in the garden for his Sunday lunch (he’s the only one in the family who likes green beans cooked – he pickles them too though – and those are great).

Otherwise, there are a few eggplants still in the garden, a few beans, maybe a banana pepper or two.  That’s about it.  This evening I ordered garlic (our crop wasn’t very good this year so no big bulbs from which to plant cloves).  We’ll plant the garlic when it arrives in a couple of weeks – – and the cycle starts again.

 

5 comments

  1. Your readers with late season herb and vegetable gardens may well find that they will grow more than they can use, preserve or give to friends.

    They may want to visit http://www.AmpleHarvest.org – a site that helps diminish hunger by enabling backyard gardeners to share their crops with neighborhood food pantries.

    The site is free both for the food pantries and the gardeners using it.

    More than 970 food pantries nationwide are already on it and more are signing up daily.

    It includes preferred delivery times, driving instructions to the pantry as well as (in many cases) information about store bought items also needed by the pantry (for after the growing season).

    AmpleHarvest.org enables people to help their community by reaching into their back yard instead of their back pocket.

    Lastly, if your reader’s community has a food pantry, they should make sure the pantry registers on http://www.AmpleHarvest.org. Its free.


    • Thanks for the info, Gary. Ample Harvest looks like a great organization. I’ll let my local pantry know about it – and bring them a bag of carrots.


      • Thank you… please do be generous with the pantries. Also… please let your fellow gardeners across the country know about AmpleHarvest.org


  2. I brought the last tidbits from our garden in this weekend too. I’m planting garlic for the first time – should get here this week. I’ve been wondering if I should try a few of the old cloves I have on hand just to see what happens (?)


    • I’d toss them in the ground – the worse that happens is nothing.
      My garlic should arrive next week (I just got around to ordering it – running a bit late).
      w



Leave a Reply

