h1

Surprise! Recycled Paper Toilet Paper at Dollar General

August 30, 2009

We were down to the rolls on the holders and I wouldn’t have an opportunity to get to the “big store” for recycled paper toilet paper until later in the week.  So I bit the bullet, so I thought, and bought a 4 roll package of Dollar General toilet paper at my neighborhood Dollar General store, just enough to hold us over for maybe the week.

DGhome_header_1

As I opened the package I noticed the little recycle triangle… to my happy surprise the toilet paper is made of 100% recycled material!

It does my spirit good to realize that you can find nooks of greenness here and there when you are least expecting it. 

Dollar General is making the effort though – it has joined the Green Portfolio Project

Environmental Defense Fund and Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co. L.P. (KKR) have been working together since May 2008 to develop and test a set of analytic tools and metrics to help companies in KKR’s U.S. portfolio measure and improve performance in several key environmental performance areas.

Dollar General was one of 5 companies to join the Green Portfolio Project in 2009 to determine ways they can improve their environmental performance.

I for one am impressed and will be rewarding Dollar General with more of my own dollars.  They have always been the store to buy assorted necessities, but increasingly it is my first choice for certain items.  For instance, they carry Arm and Hammer Essentials laundry detergent.  Now I’m going to be checking their labels more closely on their paper products.  Green and cheap – describes me pretty well.

One comment

  1. Hi there – That’s good to know about Dollar General – I’ll have to see if we have them around here. I know we have Dollar Tree and I’ve seen the GoodSense brand of recycled plastic bags there.

    Good luck with the start of school and everything that goes with it! We start on Weds.



Leave a Reply

