h1

August In the Garden and the Kitchen

August 19, 2009

It has been a cool summer, and I loved the weather.  But now the summer heat has finally hit.  The good thing is the tomatoes are ripening like crazy. Here’s today’s take of tomatoes and banana peppers. an August day's haulThe carrots are ready to be pulled too – – I pulled up what we might eat over the next several days.  This is a tiny fraction of our crop – they’ll keep in the ground so I don’t have to pull them all at once, although I do end up sharing them with some bugs if I wait too long.DSCF6907

Lately, I have been making a lot of ice cream.

The other day I stopped at our favorite natural foods market – a year round farmer’s market of local foods – they sell milk from a Central Illinois creamery that does not ultra-pasteurize or homogenize the milk and the cows are not given hormones.  I picked up 2 gallons, not looking at the dates, but 1/2 noticing there weren’t many jugs.  At check out the woman pointed out that the milk was already 2 days past their use by date – she would sell them to me at 1/2 price, but to let them know if they were bad and they’d replace them.

My experience has been that less processed milk lasts longer than the more ultra-pasteurized and homogenized milk.  So far (it is now 5 days past the use by date) the milk is fine – – but I’m trying to use it as quickly as possible too.  So I have been making ice cream.  Actually, it’s ice milk.  I can’t eat eggs so my concoction involves skim milk, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla, sometimes 1/2 and 1/2, sometimes heavy cream, but more often not – – beyond that it’s just a matter of imagination or  recipes.  I made a spiced ice cream the other day with cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger (I think it was based on a recipe from an old Midwest Living magazine).  Today and yesterday I made chocolate.

I’m trying to think of other ways to use the milk.  I have several boxes of pudding mix in the cupboard, so that’s a possibility also.  I don’t think I’m up for making cheeses, so I’m probably stuck with making assorted desserts, or maybe a soup (that my children won’t eat…). I’ll suggest that to my husband, he’s the cook of real foods – I specialize in desserts.

2 comments

  1. Oh, that spiced ice cream sounds terrific! and I’m all for butterscotch pudding, too.

    Looks like you’re getting a great harvest. I’m very jealous of your carrots. Mine are tasty but very stubby- I think because the soil in the raise bed is too shallow and there’s clay underneath. Oh well, there’s always next year.


  2. If you could use ricotta cheese, I came across this the other day:
    http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/homemade_ricotta_cheese/
    Looks pretty easy to do – wish we had better access to milk that’s not ultra-pasteurized.



Leave a Reply

