h1

Happy Birthday Dear Husband!

August 5, 2009

Yes, it is my loving husband’s birthday today.  He is 364 days older than President Obama.

It is not an especially green birthday, he got a kitchen gadget he asked for because the one we got as a wedding gift broke after 16 years.  He’s getting some clothes, because he always needs clothes. They are from Target and K-Mart, so not the fanciest duds, but then he’s kind of hard on his clothes so it is all for the better.  The best find of the clothes though is a linen shirt from K-Mart.  I also picked up a couple of bottles of hot sauce because he likes different types, and a book that I don’t think he has and I do think he’ll like.  He will at least pretend he does.

His birthday dinner is probably my biggest gift to him because he does 95% of the cooking in our family.  I bought a couple of expensive steaks (and some high quality burger meat for the non-steak eater (someday he’ll figure out the lack of difference between steak and ground beef) – I got high quality because we’ll all end up with burgers next week I suppose).  I picked up some local sweet corn.  I’ll also make a tomato, basil, and fresh mozzarella salad – – with our only ripe tomato.  And for dessert I made a Bishop’s Chocolate Pie.  Apparently, Bishops was a diner in the Midwest back in the 60’s – 80’s and this was a signature pie.  It is delicious; I made it earlier this summer when I realized that I had accumulated a ridiculous number of boxes of instant pudding. If you haven’t checked out the recipe it calls for a box of vanilla and a box of chocolate pudding, 2 cups of vanilla ice cream, 2 cups of milk, and a graham cracker crust (at least that’s what I use) – – I blend it in the blender and pour it in the pie crust and stick it in the fridge to chill. Very easy – my favorite type of recipe.

I’ll post this after the celebration so no surprises are ruined.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HUSBAND OF MINE!

 

 

2 comments

  1. I used to love to go to Bishop’s….my grandparents would take me.


  2. Merci beaucoup, ma cherie.



Leave a Reply

