h1

Research Finds that Organic Food is Not More Nutritious – That’s Not the Point!

August 1, 2009

Recently a study published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition found no difference in nutrition levels between organic and conventionally farmed foods.  The research was based on thefn6_usdaorganicseal findings of 55 studies that compared organic and nonorganic foods between 1958 and 2008.  I haven’t seen the original study, but I assume that the authors conducted what is called a meta-analysis, a technique for statistically reviewing previous research. 

This is not the first, or last, word on the subject.  Critics complain about the quality of the previous research and that the present research doesn’t address all the important nutrients.  [WebMD has a good review of the research and overview of the criticism.]

To me, this research is totally irrelevant to my purchase of organic food.  Oh, I would be ecstatic to learn that organic food is more nutritious, but I’ve never assumed it was. I buy organic food because it is less likely to be tainted by pesticides, herbicides, fertilizers, hormones, and other chemicals I do not want the people I love to be ingesting. Period. End of Story.

One comment

  1. You’re so right – when you look at your overall health, it’s just got to be better not to ingest all those chemicals & toxins — even if the nutrients are about the same. I wonder if there’s any studies being done on that. Thanks for the WebMD link.



Leave a Reply

