h1

A bit of green shopping

July 29, 2009

I had to drive my daughter and friend to their summer camp and since I was now in a bigger city it seemed like a good time to run errands and look for items I needed.

I did a bit of back-to-school shopping for the kids.  Not much green in the clothing area – but I did buy three boxes of 16 recycled pencils at Target for $1 each (that’s per box, not per pencil).  [They aren’t available on their website, so I can’t post a picture.]  There were some cute pencil cases too (also not on the web).  Some were made from reused packaging, such as for pretzels (probably misprints rather than actually pre-used).  Others were recycled plastic.  Again, $1 each, but we have so many pencil cases from years past that I left them for others to buy.

I picked up some Seventh Generation dishwasher detergent and laundry detergent.  The laundry detergent was on clearance, which was great for my wallet, but made me wonder why.  I’m hoping Seventh Generation is coming out with new packaging or a slightly different formula as opposed to Target not being able to sell enough of it to stock it any longer. 

After Target I went to Re-, an eco-friendly art and gift gallery, in search of a small weddingstainless steel wineglasses present.  This is for a friend’s daughter.  I wasn’t invited to the wedding, but I’ve always liked her and want to give her something in recognition of this step in her life.  I found stainless steel wine glasses.  These seemed great for taking on a picnic or using at home – I almost bought some for myself – but restrained myself yet again.  To wrap the gift, because I think wedding gifts need nice wrapping and not the re-used gift bag I would typically use, I bought wrapping paper, ribbon, and gift tag made from organic cotton, and recycled paper and hemp.  Unfortunately, the company, PapOrganics, has gone out of business.  The flip side of that is that the items were 50% off – which basically made them affordable – barely – I consider it part of the gift.

All in all, a fairly successful green shopping excursion.

 

Leave a Reply

