h1

Room Purge

July 27, 2009

Today’s project is a massive cleaning of dear daughter’s room.  She has come by her packrat, not neat tendencies honestly – inherited from both parents.  I like to think that I am reformed – but mostly my level of tolerance for mess and clutter is just lower than anyone else’s in the family.  Daughter has no known point at which she finds mess intolerable.  She seems to revel in chaos and spreads it wherever she goes. 

We made a deal, if she didn’t clean her room I would – but it would cost her.  We came to an agreement about my pay. She’s 9 years old with no allowance, so obviously it is not much, but I will be earning 75 cents an hour for my work. 

The plan is the 3 pile method – keep, toss, give away.  I hope to have an immense pile for Goodwill by the end of the day, we already agreed that it was time for the tub of Barbies to go away (when she was 3 her goal was to own 200 Barbies – I don’t think she ever got past 12 though).

The room is small and the items innumerable.  It is not going to be fun and it is not going to be pleasant, but it must be done.  If you don’t hear from me in the next day or two send in the rescue team.

 

2 comments

  1. thanks for stopping by with the new phrase and the posting tip! much appreciated! good luck with the haul out! 🙂


  2. Maybe you could hire yourself out for interventions for other families. Good luck!



Leave a Reply

