h1

Happy Earth Day!

April 22, 2009
Nasa has marked Earth Day by releasing a series of stunning images of the Earth, including this one of the south polar ice cap, taken from the International Space Station,to raise awareness of global climate issues

Nasa has marked Earth Day by releasing a series of stunning images of the Earth, including this one of the south polar ice cap, taken from the International Space Station,to raise awareness of global climate issues

I remember the first earth day in 1970.  I was 11 years old.  I don’t remember what we did, I just remember the feeling of it, the sense that we needed to be much more protective of our environment.

And so I try to be. 

Our Earth Day plans.  I suppose getting the bees this week is our Earth Day celebration – as Martha would say – It’s a Good Thing.  My daughter will be planting carrots in cups today – I sent her to school with seed starter mix and potting soil in case they didn’t have enough.  I’m not sure if the Jr. High students will be doing anything; my resident Jr. High student is oblivious and/or uncommunicative on the subject. 

At breakfast this morning we talked about what to do as a family.  So this evening or this weekend – whenever we can all be together – we’ll walk the property (4.5 acres) and pick up the trash that has blown in over the winter.  It’s something we try to do every spring and we have a surprisingly good time doing it.

Meanwhile, the sun is shining and it will warm up into the 60’s today – so my personal Earth Day celebration will include hanging wash out to dry.

Happy Earth Day!  Earth Day Every Day

What are you doing?

One comment

  1. It’s raining here so I’m wondering if the garden party I was supposed to go to is cancelled. I don’t remember becomming aware of Earth Day until the 90s when I moved to NY – I grew up in Florida and don’t remember ever talking about it in school or doing projects, cleanups or anything.

    Enjoy the day and good luck with the bees!! They are next on my list of babies to adopt after chickens…



Leave a Reply

