h1

Confession Time

April 20, 2009

We had a marvelous gathering for my in-laws’ 50th wedding anniversary this weekend.  Attending were their 4 children and the children’s spouses and the  7 grandchildren, plus friends from the area and friends from 2000 miles away where home was originally.  All of my mother-in-law’s bride’s maids and matrons were there.  My mother-in-law was just beaming.

Because so many people were coming from out of town there was a party at the hotel where most everyone was staying on the night before the “official” celebration.  It was also a lot of fun with old friends and relatives catching up.

Here’s where the confession comes.  I was put in charge of bringing the plates and napkins and tablecloths for a party of 35 people to be held in a hotel meeting room.  I had 72 hours.  I didn’t have much time to consider all the environmentally sound options.   Really, all I knew was we wouldn’t have a place to wash dishes and utensils.  There must have been a better way, but I went for disposable  – I know, I know – and it gets worse.  Not only was everything disposable – it was mostly plastic.

What’s my excuse?  Money.  I could have bought all paper and it would have cost 3 times as much – at least.  The plastic was on sale at the party store for 99 cents a package – the paper cost between $3 and $6 a package.  It is why people shop at the-store-that-can-not-be-named – it’s cheap! [At least I didn’t buy at the-store-that-can-not-be-named.]

Oh, I feel guilty.  And rest assured, at home, when we have parties, it is on reusable plates and cups and I wash and reuse the plastic forks and such too. But an off-site party of considerable size didn’t allow for me to bring my stash of party plates (22 white glass plates I got at an auction for $1).  So guilty I feel.

3 comments

  1. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.


  2. You stop that feeling guilty!!! with all the green things you do?? Lighten up on yourself, girl. Do you know how many people do this several times a year and don’t think a thing about it. (My confession: I can’t give up my plastic drinking straws)

    I just found out that our school cafeteria is still using styrofoam plates — every day. You can bet there was steam coming out of my ears!


    • Thanks — I keep coming back to your comment when I’m feeling like I’m not living up to my inner expectations.



Leave a Reply

